Army Painter Dip

I had been using Army Painter resin “dip” to shade models, as will have been seen in the Orc posting extravaganza over recent weeks. Since then I have moved on to their ink version.
I have found that each have their pro’s and cons.
The biggest things against the tinned resin dip are;
(1) the tin never seals very well and a large amount of the dip will dry up. I usually lost about a third of a can. As you can see in the photo below, you can end up with a massively thick layer of dried up dip, and what is below becomes unusable.solid-dip1
(2) The price. Considering how much was wasted, it was actually an expensive way to shade models.
(3) As it leaves a gloss finish, it is necessary to matt varnish the models to get rid of the shine.
(4) It is messy, smells and brushes need to be cleaned with white spirit.tarkin-how-many-tins-were-wasted
But I do like the results from the resin dip, the models come up very nicely.

Over the last year or so I have been using the ink version of the Army Painter. As this comes in small bottles, it only costs a couple of quid at a time, it is water based, has a matt finish and does not go off. The finished results may not be quite as good, but it is much easier to work with. So I will be sticking with the Army Painter Dark Tone ink for the foreseeable future.

2 thoughts on “Army Painter Dip”

    1. I tried all sorts of things, decanting some into other container, but then still having the rest in the can go off. I made strenuous efforts to keep the can lid clean, I never shook the can, I would stir it carefully.

Leave a comment