Landing Craft Prototype

Some time ago I started on a design for an MDF landing craft. This needed to be big enough to take a standard 1/56 scale tank and a 80mm Dust base, two if possible. So after the initial concept test (above), I have now cut a more complete prototype. There is still some work to do, particularly around the ramp and working out a way to have it lock in the up position.

I also want to add some more detail on the sides, some panels and more rivets.

I also think I can design some better machine guns for the rear deck, my initial prototypes are not very good, but I am still seeing what is possible.

I also think it needs to have higher sides, especially when used to carry a couple of very tall Dust walkers, perhaps two versions, a version based on an actual WWII landing craft and a version that is a bit more Weird War with more armour.

11 thoughts on “Landing Craft Prototype”

  1. Thought about an up and over lock for the ramp? Add some play to the hinge ring and allow the grid to fit in some notches at the top of the front of the hull sides. That make sense?🤔

    1. Hi Herb, this is one of those designs that never quite made it to the online store of Products For Wargamers. I did make some design changes here and there, I will get a new one cut to make sure it is all finished. What country are you in?

  2. Just a quick question. Where would I look for the pictures, once you do put them up? I checked “Notify me …” below. Will that be good enough not to miss them? No rush, just want to make sure I see them when they do go up. Trying to get Warfare 1947 going as Warfare is still my all time favorite tabletop ruleset.

    1. Not sure how the notify bit works (this comment may indeed tell you). I have just picked up a new cut of the landing craft with a high side panel option. I will get it built and post it this week!

Leave a comment