Age Of Sigmar – First Go

So as mentioned the other day, I had a game of Game$ Work$hops new Age Of Sigmar rules all planned against Mr Steinberg and his shed full of Empire.
AoSWith no army construction guidelines, it is simply a case of getting models out until you are worried that the table may collapse. Actually, as I was playing really old plastic undead models, that was never going to happen, so after I had set up four units of thirty models, I thought I would deploy some smaller units. Skeleton Cavalry, Dire Wolves and a few minor single models later and I was done. Mr. Steinberg set up quite a few Empire units and our respective model counts were not that far off in the end, but the Vampire Counts still outnumbered the Empire about 170 to 140.
aos3
We had sort of agreed to the number of units we would take as the main objective was to try out the rules and see how the mechanics work.

As an undead player back in the dim and distant past, I seem to remember that the skeletons were a bit slow, now everything pretty much moves at the same rate, with a D6″ to run. That meant that my large skeleton units could charge like any warm blooded human.

Combat is very straight forward, no more comparing weapon skills, it is just a fixed roll to hit for the unit. Damage is even easier, no more comparing strength against toughness, just a fixed roll to damage for the unit.

With the unit size bonus and some extra abilities from the Heroes, a unit of thirty spearmen can unleash 120 attacks. But still only inflict ten wounds if you roll dice like I do. Shocking…
aos7

Magic was very good for the Vampire Counts, especially as they can keep popping out new units of ten skeletons or Dire Wolves or Ghouls. Magic for the Empire seemed a bit underwhelming but I’m sure Mr. Steinberg will pass his own views on that.

The Empire Cannon had a few good goes and inflicted plenty of damage, I suspect I will be facing more cannon in the future. A unit with ranged weapons can shoot into combat with no penalty and no chance of hitting their own side.
aos6
The Vampire Counts got the upper hand, mostly because new units kept popping up and existing units kept recovering slain models.

First impression is that it was quick and brutal. How a truly competitive game will work is another matter. If one player chooses to take a much smaller force than his opponent, I’m not sure if the game will be as much fun. The whole premise of points based games is you have some sort of balance between two forces, this has done away with that.

But in the end it was fun and that is why I play. We had the chance to play a much bigger model count than we usually game with.

I won’t be rushing out and buying loads of models, I already have a pile that will fit in quite nicely, and I will definitely not be rebasing my models onto round bases. Luckily I have a box of Empire models I never completed, quite a collection of random chaos type models including plenty of demons and the like.
aos2
With such generic rules for most models, it really is a very simple set of rules, but it really could do with some examples. I’m sure a twenty page FAQ is just around the corner, to be followed another ten page FAQ for each army list…
aos4
If we stick with it, I could be tempted to use my Confrontation Orcs, but only in a small scale game.

2 thoughts on “Age Of Sigmar – First Go”

  1. I’ve downloaded the Beastmen and Dark Elf lists.

    My last games were edition 7, I just didn’t like what was done in 8 and kinda drifted away into other games.

    Perhaps it’s time to prod the Minotaurs from their labyrinth?

Leave a Reply

