Battle Dog Sponsons

Having finished building the main Battle Dog and Pug chassis last week, I thought I would have a go at making the sponsons and sponson weapons interchangeable. As regular readers will know, I use a lot of magnets on my vehicle models and this one takes the prize as the most magnets used on one model…let alone the total number used on three of them.

battledogsponson1

battledogsponson3As shown above, I drilled out a 2mm hole in each of the weapons and inserted a magnet so it was flush. I then carefully added a magnet into the top of each sponson taking care to get the poles right otherwise there would be trouble. Luckily, the magnets are strong enough to hold the weapon in place perfectly without needing another magnet on the bottom as well.

battledogsponson2With the magnet added into the sponson, it also means that the weapon can pivot as well. This was more by luck than judgement as I was not sure how this would work. My fall back position was that it it did not work very well, then I would just glue a machine gun weapon into the sponson and be done with it. But it all worked out very well indeed, even if I did use loads of magnets.

The side door on the chassis had a ressessed “door handle” which was the same diamter as the magnets I most commonly use, so it seemed like a good idea to drill it out and insert a 2mm magnet. On the sponson, the magnet was left sticking out about .5mm to help the sponson sit really well on the side of the chassis.

battledogsponson4

The final use of magnets was to make the hatches, commanders and gunners removeable.

battledoghatch1

This also means that I can use different commander or gunner models in the future.

battledoghatch2

I think there are about 22 magnets in total for each tank, this includes all the weapon options. Insantity.

Leave a Reply

